I’ll Get By With a Little Help From My Friends (and Family)

Hello there. I’m back after that mammoth blog entry last time. I decided to give myself a little break from writing for a while as that blog entry took a lot of effort. This entry’s going to be a lot less jam packed than the last one, but it’s still worth doing to document my entire stay here in the U.S. But anyway, I don’t really have much to say about the 17th of March to the 19th of March. I enjoyed having the bedroom to myself while my roommate was still away. It was also nice because the flat was still clean from when I tidied it last, as no one else was here to mess it up.

On Monday the 20th of March, Rikako wanted us to meet her brother Yu, who was visiting her for Spring Break. He was also going to be cooking for us this evening which was very nice of him. It also provided an opportunity to catch up with everyone after Spring Break to find out what everyone had got up to. Whilst we were talking to Yu and asking him questions as he was cooking us fried chicken, we could certainly tell that he was Rikako’s brother. They’re both very similar in terms of personality and they’re both always laughing! Having basically 2 Rikako’s was very amusing! Yu cooked some very tasty fried chicken and as an added bonus, Hugo also made some crepes for dessert! Perfect! I love having friends that enjoy cooking!

IMG_0597

The 21st wasn’t that noteworthy for me, but on the 22nd of March there was that very shocking news about the terrorist attack on London’s Westminster Bridge. I was in the library when it happened and found out through a live feed that was on Facebook. Needless to say, I was very surprised. It’s very weird to see your country deal with a terrorist attack when you’re not there. But British people are tough and we always show resolve in the face of adversity, one things for sure; you can never break the British spirit.

On Thursday the 23rd, I got most of my marks back for my midterm tests and assignments. Remember that politics test from 2 entries ago that I thought I did terribly in? Well I somehow went and got 91 out of 100!

Miranda Get In

The 24th was quite the busy day, the main reason for this being that I had to conduct an interview with a stranger! This was part of my Journalism class and an assignment that involved going out and interviewing someone (it could be literally about anything) and then write a small piece about what they had to say. I thought it would be a neat idea to go to the global education and international student services office, and interview someone there. I thought this would make for a good angle seeing as I’m an international student myself.

When I got to the office, I somehow managed to cause a mass panic and hysteria, as no one knew who I could interview, even though I stressed it could be literally anyone who worked there. They seriously were making a mountain out of a mole hill, one person phoned 2 people to ask if they could do it, another person went around the office very confused asking anyone if they could do it. Finally, in the end a guy called Andy Martinez was able to do it. He was very friendly and even took an interest about me and asked me questions, even though I was the one conducting the interview. He also told me that he’d just recently helped a student who was going to Swansea University from Albany, this was oddly exciting to hear about, seeing this on the other side is really weird! With that all done, I could get on and actually write up that piece and be done with it.

Today was also Red Nose Day in the UK, and whilst I do love it, I was really sad as I couldn’t watch it! That’s something that I haven’t seen any of at all in the U.S.; national TV fundraisers. They’re just so good! One of my favourite skits EVER came from Comic Relief; which mixed Call The Midwife, One Born Every Minute and even Doctor Who. I just miss British TV so much!

This is just so good!

Things today would go a bit better though, as we went out to the Cheesecake Factory! Myself, Hugo, Caitlin, Miriam and Amanda were going, and Amanda very kindly drove us there. It was ridiculously busy when we got there, and we had to wait quite a while for a table. Luckily, it’s right next to a mall so we had something to do while we waited. Unfortunately for me and Hugo, the first place we all went to was Sephora. I hate that place, it’s so weird and expensive, so me and Hugo decided to ditch the girls and went to the music store instead. The same one that we went to with Oda and Marko all that time ago when we first were getting used to living in Albany.  We then decided to see if our table was ready, and the girls had already gone back and were waiting for us at the table. This time I had a burger which was nice, but to tell you the truth I was missing Wisconsin as I had that burger. The Cheesecake Factory is forever just going to make me think of Wisconsin and the fun time I had there over Spring Break!

IMG_0600

This day had managed to be not as bad as I anticipated, but that night, into Saturday morning just sucked. I was woken up at around 3:00am by the sound of my suite mates and REALLY drunk roommate coming back from a night out. They were so incredibly loud. I can’t wait to be rid of them and never have to see them ever again (that might sound extreme, and your right it is, but I don’t care, I’m being very transparent right now as I’m writing this).

My feelings of annoyance didn’t go away the next day on the 25th, they only got worse! I was just very fed up with people. The flat was a complete mess and I’d been woken up by everyone else in the flat. There was no sign of remorse or of an apology. It was just so rude! Then, after I was so fed up with them that I had to leave the flat and go to the library; a group of people walking towards me coming in the opposite direction didn’t move at all, forcing me to walk in the mud, how lovely some people are…

I felt a lot better though on the day of the 26th of March, because it was Mother’s Day (at least in the UK it was), and I was able to FaceTime with my mum and wish her a happy Mother’s Day. I was also able to get my annoyances of my chest and tell someone else about it. My roommate did walk in the room as I was talking to her and annoyingly decided to just stay here for some reason, which was inconvenient and awkward. But this was easily worked around as I jut switched to speaking Welsh with my dad who also shown up as I was speaking to my mum. That’s the beauty of being able to speak two languages, you can talk about someone and they have no idea you’re talking about them!

Moving on to the 27th of March, I had to get up incredibly early today. This was because the modules for my final year at Swansea University would be out today at 9:00am UK time, which is 4:00am Eastern time! I wouldn’t usually have to worry about picking my modules straight away, but this time they would be on a first come first serves basis. It was a bit ridiculous though how those of us in the U.S. would be at a massive disadvantage when it came to picking modules, but hey, I can’t do anything about it.

The 4:00am wake up day was made so much better by the fact that I got a surprise package delivered to me! I had literally no idea what it could have been. It turned out to be a box full of Easter goodies! Loads of little eggs, a Lindor Chocolate bunny and a small (but in this case large) Chocolate Egg. Once again my parents coming though as the best parents ever!

IMG_0601

Yes, all the images in this blog are of food!

Skipping ahead to the 29th of March, a very disappointing thing occurred today. Article 50 was triggered! This basically officially starts the process of the UK leaving the EU. Like the article, I was TRIGGERED by this! I don’t really have anything to say for the next 3 days, except that this now brings us up to April! Which means we’re at the final 2 months of me being a student at the University at Albany (but in real time there’s less than a month left! :O )! Where does the time go!?

Saturday the 2nd of April was a rather spontaneous day, which isn’t that common for me. I started out my day by going to the library to do dome corrections on the journalism assignments I’d been given back. This was extremely frustrating. As most of my ‘errors’ were due to the differences in American English to British English. In American English for some bizarre reason, they put the punctuation inside the quotation marks, which is just ridiculous if you ask me! Not only that, but I was punished for using British spelling! Even after the professor for this class told me he wasn’t going to mark me down for that! How should I know that I need to use ‘program’ instead of ‘programme’!?

Anyway, I was in the library doing this, but also at the same time I was messaging Howard, Harriet and Becca (my best friends from back home), mainly complaining to them about American spelling and grammar and all that fun stuff. I don’t know how, but we somehow got on to talking about how we hadn’t Skyped in forever. Then we just decided on the spot that we were going to Skype each other today! I quickly finished my work and went back to my flat to talk with them. We ended up Skyping for about 3 and a half hours! It was the best! During that long Skype conversation, I was somehow persuaded into getting Snapchat. Yes, I’ve never used Snapchat up until today. We talked about a whole heap of stuff, including how myself, Harriet and Becca hate who we currently live with. But that it’s okay, because we have each other and we can get through this all together!

The next day was just pure inconvenience. Starting with a fire alarm in our block of flats at around 8:00am! Bear in mind I don’t have to get up early for classes on Mondays, so I was very miffed. The in the evening when I went to the library, after literally just finishing unpacking everything from my bag to start working; the fire alarm went off! Two fire alarms in one day! My luck with fire alarms hasn’t changed since the last semester, they just seem to follow me wherever I go!

Sorry if this blog entry was a little short and mundane compared to the last one, but I just needed to get this one out there before the gap between posts gets a little too large. Believe it or not but we’re reaching the finishing stretch here soon. That seems crazy to think about but it’s true! Until next time.

TTFN

Leave a Reply

